Hello from Central Virginia

Hello,

My name is Dan and I just placed an order for a Crossfire Pro with the Hypertherm 45xp. I’ve been making and selling tailgate check brackets for Jeeps for a couple of years now, all cut, ground, and drilled by hand. After making close to a thousand of them I’m looking to simplify my production a bit. As well as create other products.

Looking forward to exploring the forum, asking questions, and providing answers where I can

Thanks,
Dan

3 Likes

Oh my gosh did you pick the right tool for the job! That is great that you already have a good use for it. I have the same set-up. Totally a hobby for me so I am taking it slow. Besides, metal is so costly you have to pick your “wants & needs” more wisely these days.

There is nothing like cutting out brackets and having the holes right where you need them. With a little practice you will be able to dial in the size holes. And forget about how to make slots. It is as easy as making holes. The plasma cutter and table is not concerned: it goes where it is told to go!

I am in Washington state. Lots of good people on this forum. Welcome to the forum!!!

2 Likes

Southwest VA here. Welcome aboard!!

1 Like

You’re going to love it. I’ve been making Jeep YJ exhaust hangers with mine.

5 Likes

Have you tried scrap metal dealers? Or if your local landfill has an appliance section, you might be allowed to pull the panels off of washers and dryers that have been tossed. You’ll have to grind the metal where you attach the work clamp but it’s not a bad way to get cheap (or free) metal to practice with.

2 Likes

Thank you for the warm welcome! I’m pretty excited to be able to cut out so many manual steps in my process. Hours of grinding radius corners on a belt grinder, constantly burning my fingers and dealing with all the dust will be something I won’t miss.

Thanks,
Dan

4 Likes

Thank you!

Good tip! I will have more time in the coming months. I will need to check out those options.