G and M code definitions

Anyone have a complete list of G and M codes that sheetcam/Langmuir is using in this postprocessor?

G and M codes are standard in the industry.
search the web and you will find some great resources.
I just created a thread for people to post G code shortcuts…hopefully people will post some information there to help us all.
Here is a website I just found that is useful

1 Like

I’ve been programming CNC mills and lathes for 30 years there’s code in here that is not standard. They’re probably what’s refered to as user-defined codes. These codes may be common to the plasma table industry but I’m not familiar with them. For instance G38.2 I believe believe it was. I’m thinking this has to do with their torch height control parameters. there’s like 8 or 10 lines of code that keep repeating throughout the programs. Some of that was what I was curious about.

2 Likes

G38.2 is for probing on an axis. In this case it is probing on the Z axis. The Z axis is slowly lowered until the ‘probe’ (which is system specific) senses contact with the material and, when it does, the motion is stopped. At that point the Z value would be zeroed (or set to some consistent over travel value) and then the torch is moved to a new Z height (typically the pierce height) and cutting can begin. This is usually done before every pierce in case the material is warped or the table isn’t level, etc.

In my experience, G codes for any system are ‘similar’, but I’d never call it a ‘standard’ as the definitions are not guided by any standards authority. De facto standard in some cases, but even there there are variations.

2 Likes

Sheetcam is looking for.
a crossfire pro/firecontrol post processor, im trying to find same because it seems to not generate a valid code file without it, or am i missing something?

https://www.langmuirsystems.com/downloads
Look under post processors…

1 Like