File Strategy? - Burning up my 10 File limit on F360

I am sure that there is a smarter way.

I’m new to Fusion360 but have have had some limited success creating parts and cutting them out on my CrossFirePRO. It’s been a real gamechanger.

The problem is that I am just doing “quick and dirty” drawings in the ADMIN Project and quickly filling up the 10 file limit there… the options for “New Folder” or “New Project” are greyed-out which I assume is because I’m just using the free version of F360. Still, there must be a way to organize myself in a way where I am constantly forced to just delete or purge old drawings so that I’m not always up against the 10 file limit?

From an organizational standpoint, it would be really helpful to have a few folders or at least nested directories for similar files depending on what I’m doing… and I’d like to be able to easily find and delete old/incorrect versions of drawings once I finally get them fixed and finalized. I just stumbled across the post showing how to find the hidden “F” and “Q” Folders where local copies of all my files are actually stored, so I should be able to clean up the mess I’ve created there.

If anyone has a good system that is helping them to stay organized, and/or avoid the 10 file limitation of the free version, I’d love to hear from you.

Thanks!

-TM

I don’t use Fusion, but the 10 file limit is only for active projects. My understanding is that you can make them inactive and just swap files between being active and inactive to stay under the 10 active file limit.

Edit: the proper terminology is “editable” and “read only”. You can make your files “read only” to free up space in your 10 document limit. In order to make a “read only” file editable, you’ll have to have space in your 10 document limit. You can do that by making another file “read only”.

4 Likes

Thanks! I do recall seeing that option… and I think I played with it a bit.