Edge Quality & Minimum hole sizes

Hi All,

I’m considering a system for all the little parts I make for customer machines. I work in the food machinery industry and nearly exclusively with stainless. Common thicknesses I’d be cutting are 1/16" to 1/4" with occasional 3/8 or 1/2 if the torch could handle it.

My question is edge quality. I have a lot of parts waterjetted and laser cut, but still have to buff the edges to a smooth grain w/ 180 grit. Do you guys have any good thoughts on how much extra cleanup I’ll be doing? Slag and striations in the cut? I haven’t used a plasma cutter in a while and that one was pretty beat up, so I’m not remembering. I suppose this has a lot to do with torch and setup quality, but just an idea if I’m going to be struggling with “nicked” edges on this bad boy.

Also, how small of holes can I put in material? For example laser cutters usually stop me at hole diameter smaller than the material thickness. Do you guys have any rule of thumb for this?

Plasma is the chevette of cutting and laser & waterjet are the caddilacs of cutting. Absolutely no comparison.

1 Like

You’re comparing a $2500 setup to $50,000+

As stated above, it is not compatible.

The crossfire does its job very well for the price but cutting holes with plasma is tricky to begin with and smaller than 1/4” is rarely accurate.

I’ve seen recommendations not to cut holes smaller than the thickness of your material, and the smaller the hole the more out of round it ends up being. Large holes 1” and up aren’t an issue.

1 Like

True. Many of these parts I don’t need extreme precision on the cosmetic edges – they get buffed down anyways. Any precisely located or round holes could be punched on my vertical mill. So most parts will be cleaned up on belt sander and scotchbrite belt.

Does 304 stainless throw the typical plasma torch a curveball, or cut much like carbon?