Duet Wifi Control Board Upgrade

Has anyone here successfully converted a Gen1 Crossfire to a Duet2/3?

What advantages do I get out of just upgrading to the Gen2 Upgrade + THC?

My background is electronics, 3D printing hardware and firmware. I design, build and 3D repair printers.

The control board doesn’t seem like there is alot to it a glance. Are the advantages only the software/firmware? What chipset is on the driver board?

Is that why they don’t sell the hardware upgrade without the THC for Gen1?

Welcome to the forum.

Why would you replace a working $33 board with one that costs over $180?

Langmuir developed their own controller board and added THC module to it. The THC implementation won’t work on a Gen1 system. And the software on the Gen2 system is proprietary (although appears to be GRBL based) and undocumented.

2 Likes

Because I have them laying around doing nothing and they were free. Also 32 bit + WIFI + TMC controllers.

I know THC won’t work on Gen1, that is why I asked why they won’t sell the upgrade without THC.

If I don’t necessarily need THC. What am I losing out on?

I sent an email to support before I asked this question BTW.

Having some ‘laying around’ makes more sense. I think you can buy a Z only upgrade for Gen1, but that would be a lot more expensive than simply adding your own Z Axis and then adapting your Duet controllers to control the three axis. I would highly recommend adding at Third party THC controller, eg THC3-T02, because the signal processing and voltage isolation need to do THC right is an Art. THC3-T02 did it right. IMO, LS did not.
There are a number of early posts on adding THC to an LS Plasma Cutter, they are a worthwhile read IMO.

THC is useful if you have warped material, thin material (less than 3/16") that tends to warp due to heat, or an early CF with the cantilevered X Rail, which tends to not move planar to the workpiece.

1 Like