Drilling large holes

I know that this is not really a langmuir related question but I know a lot of you on here can help me with this. I need a really good way to cut large holes in plate 3/4" diameter and bigger. I only have a standard floor drill press but im willing to spend a little money on the right equipment and cutters. I do not have a budget for a milling machine right now.

typically I will cut my parts on the crossfire with a small pilot hole then I will drill my holes. I have used step bits but on anything 1/4" plate or thicker its a bad idea.

I really want a good looking cut on my holes especially when I’m being paid for work and when the hole quality and dimensions matter.

drilling nice holes kinda seems like it should be obvious Fab 101 but I’m not embarrassed to say that fabrication is a skill that I’m completely self taught on and asking knowledgeable people is how I got to where I am (not saying much). Any advice is appreciated.

What size range or you looking to sell and how often?

Sorry drill. Autocorrect

Hole saws work awesome.

If you have a mag drill a annular cutter is a great option for plate too.

https://www.tenaquip.com/product/walter-surface-technologies-sst-core-cut-annular-cutter-kit-05a991-uau602?gclid=Cj0KCQiA5aWOBhDMARIsAIXLlkdomtlbAilAe9dU0oeIwLrwIXwgtJuYsRivAnobIErWUM02hFSYzrwaAk3JEALw_wcB

if its 1/8 (10ga) or less a knock out kit would be prefect

Drilling large holes would only be occasionally and maybe as large as 2” on a rare occasion. 1”
Would be common.

May consider friending a machine shop. Or someone with access to one.

I would have never considered trying to drill plate with bimetal holesaw‘s. They seem inadequate for that heavy of work but I guess I could give it a shot. Won’t know till I try.

I have looked at the annular cutters And in my research I did conclude that my drill press was in adequate, has the wrong chuck, and I would need a mag drill.

Is the mag drill worth my money?