CT is here for racing!

Getting ready to order a CrossFire with the XL kit … looking forward to getting to know y’all

2 Likes

Welcome! Got my XL a year ago and have been super happy with it. Lots of good info and help on this forum for sure. Langmuir has also been really responsive when I asked questions.

It was a big learning curve for me (and I’m still learning) even though I’m computer and metal shop savvy but it’s totally been a :+1: for my tiny shop. If you’re not comfortable with computers it will definitely be a tougher journey.

I took my time and started small (simple shapes and lots of scrap tests) to get the workflow straight in my head and I think that really helped keep my frustration level down.

Enjoy!

Bob

1 Like

Thank you Bob,

I’m going to be ordering the original Crossfire 2’ x 2’ with the XL expansion kit. In the meantime I downloaded Fusion 360, and I’m becoming familiar with that.

Like most, we have a small shop also; are they ever big enough? LOL

Thank you for responding,

Jeff

Best advice I’ve heard in a LONG time… Couldn’t agree more… Baby steps!!

Always looking for good advice …

Yeah as much as I’d like to go larger, that just ain’t gonna happen Jeff :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

I really like Fusion 360 for doing dimensional stuff (parts, brackets etc) and I use Inkscape and Affinity Designer for arty stuff although some folks use F360 for everything.

I also put out the $$ for Sheetcam to do my post processing after a while of struggling with F360 for that. The CAM portion of Fusion and I did just not get along. Nothing personal :smiley: Maybe I just needed to spend more time with it, but I just found Sheetcam a better fit for me.

If you have any questions feel free to DM me. More than happy to help if I can and if I can’t I’ll definitely tell you that too.

1 Like

Thank you Bob, I definitely will!

hey Jeff, I’m in Danbury. mobile welding and heavy machine repair.

Hey there Richard,