Consumables - nozzle life

Hello plasma ppl…

So, i am new with my plasma and I literally just started using my cnc for real this week and since I am a noob I was wondering about the nozzles.

Thus, if I had to tell you that I was cutting 8mm thk mild steel at 48 amps, piercing at 3.5mm and cutting at 2mm with a THC… using 65Amp nozzles and cutting speed of 750mm/min(which was the best speed yielding zero dross what so ever)… is it OK if after approx 35 m of cutting and around 40 pierces later the nozzles started to get bad?

What is your intake on this? I really what to hear from someone who has done hours of cutting to guide me…

Btw, I am not complaining just seeking knowledge :nerd_face:

Thanks in advance.

DIM

I too am paying attention! :nerd_face:

But do have any results?.. When do you change your nozzle?

Have not had to change any consumables yet.

On my Everlast 50s, I am able to get about 45 minutes of cutting done before needing to replace consumables. That is cutting mostly 1/8" and thinner

Depends greatly on your cutter and how clean your air is. Tell us what cutter you’re using and what your entire air run from compressor to plasma is. The times mentioned here sound really short.

On my powermax 45xp I get hours of cut time and hundreds of pierces before I need to change consumables. I also have an aftercooler on my compressor, a refrigerated air dryer, filter and desiccant, and Motorguard m26 to the cutter.

I have one water separated that is with the plasma unit, than I have an AT1000 filter ( like a roll of toilet paper), than there are two filters (0.01 and 0.1 micron particulate filter ) then 10 meters away there is the compressor.

Thats what a have so far.