Connection to computer

Hi All,
I am new to CNC plasma cutting, but not to CNC. I bought a crossfire that is new to me, but an older machine. I saw it run from the person I bought it from. I am just now getting it set up and can see where my computer “bings” when I plug it into the USB, but I cannot get the Firecontrol to connect. Other that the menu and “inch, mm” drop down, I can’t get any response.
I have read through the discussions and followed every suggestion; Changing cables, changing computers, uninstalling, re-installing the different versions of Firecontrol, etc.
The one thing that I am going to try is the dongle, since I didn’t know there was a dongle as a part of the connection.
In the discussions, I keep seeing where folks are asking if the USB light is green. Is this the dongle that they are referring to? or a part of the board on the machine itself? Thanks in advance for any and all assistance!

I guess the first question I would have is are you positive the crossfire you have was run on Firecontrol? The OG crossfires used Mach3

1 Like

HMMM, great question. I am not sure. How can I tell? I do not have any contact with the person that I purchased from.

easy…look on the back of the control box…do you have 1 X and 1 Y axis ports?..or is there a Z axis port?

if you have only 1 and 1 with no Z axis then you are on the OG table which runs on MACH3…

4 Likes

Hi toolboy, then yes, I definately have the OG. I’d like to upgrade this table to the next gen. I have seen the upgrade kits and may get going on that. Any suggestions on upgrades to this machine? Thanks!

so…if you want to upgrade it depends on what you want to do and how much you want to spend.
there are 2 pgrades available for the OG table…both available on the Langmuire website under the "store’ tab…

do you plan to cut thick or thin metal?
do you think you need more space on the table…then possibly you want the XL kit for more cutting area…?