Artwork Software

So I see all the cool projects that the plasma community(if there is such a thing) have done and I can’t imagine designing them in Fusion 360. Can someone line out the software that would be helpful to someone like me who is artfully challenged that will help me get from graphical art or even photos to tool paths… or at least to an import file.

Search inkscape cnc plasma cutting on youtube.

2 Likes

I use Aspire software and sheetcam. Perfect for any needs. You can look at Vectrics other software if you don’t like the price of Aspire. They work great too.

1 Like

I use VCarve Pro for our CNC mill, what gcode post-processor do you use? or do you export as DXF and import into sheetcam?

2 Likes

I am a total newb at this and won’t have my table until Batch 2. With that I’ve somewhat learned Fusion 360 cad and cam. The parts that I am most interested in manufacturing are designed and G code files created. I am pretty jazzed about progress so far since I think the machine will have paid for itself with this one project. My issue is beyond these initial projects. Up front I didn’t consider art projects but looking around this is certainly a great opportunity. My problem is designing structural parts is easy but art is out of my league! Since my initial question I stumbled across inkscape but it is just ANOTHER software program to slug through. So with the jibberish out of the way I found some clipart files and ran them through convertio.co to get them into .svg files which worked. Next I brought them into Fusion 360 and ran into problem when trying to define tool paths in CAM. I couldn’t tell witch side of the line it was trying to cut on and even the simulation crashed. Since then I have seen where some people have made more than 1 G code file to resolve the crashing issue but the cutside is something else. Trial and error will probably fix this but it just seems like the long way around.