Another sheet metal bending puzzle

Thinking through bending sheet metal gives my brain a workout for whatever reason! I have what I thought was a very simple bend but cannot figure out how to do it on my brake. I’m just learning about it so take it easy on me! :slight_smile:

It’s a french cleat from a piece of 18Ga.

I’m hoping @TinWhisperer looks at it and gives me an idea! Here is the fusion file and a link to the project if you don’t use fusion

Spray can rack v8.f3d (342.1 KB)

All depends on what you have for a brake. If a swag offroad type. Best chance is to bend the bottom edge furthest form the paint can holes first. Then flip the sheet over and bend the next bend in from the first. 3rd rotate the part 180 degrees and bend the edge closest to the holes. Then bend the last one. Depending dimensions sheet may hit the press or die on the last bend but being 16 ga chances are it will flex enough to let you bend it. The small piece looks like you are trying to do an offset bend wich would take an offset die to do it with one brake. You can do it with 2 bends but would need to have a space between bends .

1 Like

Thanks the piece with the holes (the main body) is not where I’m confused it’s the small bracket (cleat) that has an offset bend. I have a magnetic box/pan brake. I’ve tried bending the cleat but can’t get it yet.

Try making the piece wider allowing a 1/2 to 3/4" between bends. Experiment with a PC of scrap.

Ya I am experimenting with scrap, I want the piece to be no more than 1.25 inches though. I’m not sure the brake is going to get it done…

There are various types of french cleat bars available at McMaster-Carr

Try using 3 strips of metal

place 1 strip on magnet
now put job piece on so that bend sits above first piece edge
put 3rd piece on over other side away from 1st piece to edge lines up with bend for cleat

Now fit clamp bar over top & give full bending power
Magnet should pull clamp bar down creating bent cleat.