Affinity Designer / Sheetcam Tutorials

I’m looking to branch out on what I’m doing with my business. I love running my machine and creating things, but I don’t want to run it full time.

I think I have a pretty easy workflow figured out with my two software choices, Affinity Designer and Sheetcam, and that I could tech others how I use them to run the table.

Best part is Affinity Designer is one of the few perpetual license software choices out there. I’ve been using it successfully for artsy stuff as well as technical things, like my bumper for my 4Runner. I also have a way to view the kerf width while designing, that lets me adjust prior to toolpathing so there aren’t any surprises.

Disclaimer: I’m not a design expert, I’ve just figured out how to make all of this work together, and I’m almost certain that I could walk anyone through this workflow and have them producing ready to cut files.

I’m curious how many people on the board would be interested and excited about this? It would be a series of YouTube videos specific to the described workflow. I feel like there’s a need, I guess my millennial side is looking for positive reinforcement. There are a lot of people making videos of the crossfire pro out there, but I think I can offer the simplest “how to” with regard to making your cuts on the crossfire. What do you all think?

7 Likes

I am definitely interested in this!

I would be interested in watching how to videos. I still have a good bit of time till my table gets here, so in the mean time I’ve been learning the cad part of things and will start with cam next.

I like the Idea as well, do you use the PC/Mac or ipad version(not sure if there is even a difference)? I dont have either currently but looking for something better than inkscape and seems very affordable.

I have all three, but I use the Mac most. The touchpad just works the best for me with how often I zoom in and pan around.