625 Spectrum Xtreme not cutting consistently

Hello! I am somewhat new to plasma cutting and have been running the 625 Spectrum Xtreme on the Crossfire Pro. I am having a new issue where the plasma cutter does not seem to shoot enough to pierce but it is inconsistent! We tried clamping to different slats and even clamping directly to the material being cut. It sometimes cuts full power as it should but then the very next cut it will go back to being far too weak to pierce. I tried examining if any connections were loose or if there were any visual issues with the grounding clamp but could not find anything. Has anyone else had this issue that found the solution? I hope it’s something as simple as a loose connection, but I don’t know where to start.

Does the arc look green? If it does, your electrode is worn out.

Have you tried new consumables?

Do you have any air drying equipment in your air line? A simple moisture trap is not enough.

4 Likes

Fill in the following

Material:
Thickness:
Pierce Delay:
Pierce height:
Cut Height:
Amps:
Air pressure to the cutter.
Cut air pressure?

Have you verified your cut height?

Describe your air system, what are you doing to treat your air?

What do your consumables look like?

2 Likes

You should always clamp to the material. The slats do not provide a reliable connection. The spot on the material should be bare metal (no residue from Hot Rolling or other oxidation). This may not be your complete problem, but it is highly recommended.

Also, check that your cable to the Work Clamp is not disconnected from the metal post at the PC connector or corroded at the clamp.

3 Likes

Would a worn electrode cause the cut to be very weak then back to normal cutting? I am not familiar with this so I was not sure if when the electrode is worn out that its completely done.

Thanks for the insight! I will check the clamp today