Adobe Illustrator .DXF

I’m a professional graphic designer and primarily use Adobe Illustrator for my design work. I have no interest or time to learn a new, complex program to render a 2D product.

I’ve spent hours today trying to import both DXF and SVG files into Fusion with very little luck. I’ve been on the Autodesk help forums and it basically seems that these formats are pretty much useless with Fusion. Which is stupid.

At any rate, I send .DXF files to my CNC waterjet and router vendors with no issue all the time so I know they work. I’m not sure what program they are using for the CAD/CAM - which I am certainly going to find out on Monday - but I was wondering if anyone is using something other than Fusion to create the CAM and g-code?

I have had no problems at all importing all my old dxf’s that I drew up using Deltacad which is a $30 program. Some are 10 years old and some are downloaded. I am just learning Fusion myself and learned how to import from a YouTube video, what issues are you having?

The biggest single problem I am having at the moment is the size the files are importing into Fusion. I’ve coordinated the scales between the two programs but it doesn’t seem to matter and they keep importing huge (DXF) or tiny (SVG). And within Fusion I can only figure out how to scale the design as a proportion, not simply input a new value to match what I designed in Illustrator.

Just learning myself, I ha that problem and Fusion was set to mm and my drawings were in imperial. Once I changed the default in Fusion to imperial, everything has been fine.

I have found to cut a .svg file you have To insert it, click fix/unfix once sometimes twice, and its then workable. To do .dxf files they have to be uploaded then added to a new sketch. Havnt had any problems with either tho once changed to inches from mm.

Make sure the units are correct when you import the dxf files. Fusion has more options than mm and inches.