Sheet Cam Issues

My IHC and THC will not work. I cannot move the Torch Hight manually, and it doesn’t move when I start a cut. This is my first attempt with my new Crossfire, so I’m sure it’s something simple. I checked connections and everything seems secure, so I assume it must be something to do with my Sheet Cam settings. Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated!

Hi Shaun and thanks for posting… Sounds like you’ve completed checking cabling and that all looks good… Wouldn’t hurt to quickly check again…!

• So, one of the next things to check would be whether you have a USB connection between the computer and the table’s control box. Is the green “connected” indicator lit in the upper right hand corner of the Fire Control screen?

• Is the control box itself powered up?

• And is the power supply inside the control box switched to the correct voltage 120v or 220v?

BTW, is it only the Z-axis that will not move for you…? If so, these other items probably will not need to be checked…

These are some easy things to check before we get more involved…

I cheated and search this forum relating to your question and found this one by @ds690… I think they are valid things to check on…

1 Like

There are no settings in CAM that will prevent you from jogging the Z axis from Firecontrol. If the other axis’ jog, but the Z won’t move, check to see if the motor is turning. A few people have reported that the coupler between the motor and lead screw was not tight on their Z axis. This will allow the motor to spin, but the lead screw doesn’t turn.

If the motor is not turning when you jog it, the first thing to check is the connector to the Z axis stepper motor driver on the control box. Loosen the screws and push the connector fully into the socket. The connector screws could be too long and pushing the connector out when they are tightened all the way.