Plasma Noob — Looking for feedback

Hi all, I am brand new to plasma. I am, however, CNC and CO2 laser proficient, so my concerns are predominantly with plasma cutting in general. I am hoping for a bit of feedback on some first cuts to understand if what I am seeing is mostly normal, or whether I am way off in left field and I simply don’t know enough yet to realize it.

Sample video — VOLUME warning:

I had to tighten the Z-axis coupler to the stepper, but otherwise, the machine was good to go out of the box. I picked up some 22 gauge steel from the big box store for testing, and I filled up the table with an appropriate ratio of SterlingCool and water. The air compressor is hooked up with both an inline desiccant dryer and a water/oil separator. The plasma cutter is an Everlast 52i on 220V, and wired for raw voltage. Air pressure at the unit shows 70PSI (center of indicator — green) when air is flowing. Amperage is set to 45.

I initially had a variety of THC and pierce errors, but I was able to get things working by reducing the pierce height and significantly reducing the pierce delay, all the way to 0.3 seconds (full settings pictured below). This seems much lower than what I have seen recommended in the documentation and others’ settings. Upon further reading, I suspect this could have to do with the thinness of the material, and that I may need to reduce both the cutting power and air pressure — any recommendations here are welcome.

Also, is it normal to have fog in the room after cutting? Is this dangerous? I can just open the garage door if I need to, but this means no cutting at night. Thanks.

Some test cuts:

Tip check…normal?:

Working settings (no errors thrown):

Thanks again for any insight.

1 Like

First, welcome to the forum!