Pierce marks on cut edge - needing some guidance

I’m new to this but have been consuming all the YouTube I can to self help but after a dozen F bomb bottle openers I hoping some of you can point me in the right direction. I’m going to try and attach some pics of the work piece and also my settings.
I have the pro table with THC set up and working. Cutting 16 gauge sheet metal with stock consumables on razorweld 45 set at 35 amps. (I’ve tried 30 - max just to see and no impact on this issue). Air is very dry through a three stage dryer and then an M60 at cutter.
I set Kerf to 2mm, have no lead out, lead in is .2” and I’ve tried a whole range here, sweep angle is 60 degrees and I’ve tried 90 too. Lead in radius seems to be “best” at .125 vs 0 but have the issue regardless.

How long is your pierce delay?

Thanks for the reply. Took a pic of that screen for anything else of reference below but is set at .5sec

I wonder if you shortened up even more if you’d get less of a pierce divot. I also wonder about trying an even shallower sweep angle? Say 30 degrees?

1 Like

I agree with @ScottNH use maybe a 60° sweep angle and I would do a smaller lead in radius. (.06"ish)

Also you may want to increase your lead and feed rate.

And your kerf of 2mm or .080" +/- it’s likely a little big compared to what your actual kerf would be. Reduce it to a .060"

2 Likes

Are you center cutting?

Or is it cutting to the left side of the line?

The only tab that you missed screenshotting in the 2D profile menu above would show that.

default was / is left…

Screenshot 2022-06-15 211705

I see it now, I missed it on the list.

Appreciate the replys…Going to make these changes and make another cut tonight.

I have tried feed rates from 40 -200 and still having the issues.
I have not tried changing the kerf and I have not tried a less than 60degree sweep.