Noob with a L-pro - question on Hypertherm 30AIR

Hi guys, I’m a complete noob with plasma cnc. I haven’t received my L-pro however I’d like everyone’s take on using the hypertherm 30AIR. I thought if this plasma since it comes with its own air compressor which is one less thing to worry, any thoughts or experience for anyone that like or dislike using this? Appreciate all your response as it well help me moving forward.

when I was shopping for a plasma power supply that was one model I was considering but I eventually selected a beefier plasma cutter. what you need to consider is what you plan on cutting most of the time (thick, thin…) as well as whether you have plans to use the torch for other projects non CNC. based on those considerations, I knew I wanted a 40-60 amp unit. I bought the 45xp.

I’m sure other here with more experience will jump in. You may also want to use the SEARCH function for this site, as well as visit other forums such as ‘garagejournal’, “weldingweb” et al (fabricaiton interest forums).

Thanks Walter, I’ve started using the search function but not much on the 30AIR, but I’ll keep looking.

@jimcolt (long time hypertherm employee) has chimed in on this in the past. The air supply is not enough for cnc use.

From what I understand it may but small items, but forget doing a big art piece with it. I reserve the right to be wrong.

For me, a good air compressor was an absolute must for this whole endeavor. Though I had done some hand cutting prior to this, and saw how much air it took.

I had a 30Air before I ordered my table, then had some questions about using it with a CNC table. This is a reply I got from Jim Colt (41 years with Hypertherm) on the subject.