New guy from canada could use a little help

hey all finally got my table all set up and connected to plasma cutter everything appears to be working torch is firing all axis are moving how do i down load a cut file or make one just to do a simple cut im very new to this sort of thing but have been welding and cutting for 25 years …i have many questions for one do i need sheet cam? how do i get a small project from fileshare to fire control ? any help in this regard would be great …

Go to fireshare and download a cut ready file

I have tried… When I do it askes what I want to use to open it? And I can’t seem to find the file in firecontrol… Sorry if I sound like a flat liner…

Is your issue with unzipping the archive that contains the file? FireShare downloads files as .zip and requires these to be extracted before they reveal the gcode file within. This may be your issue as FireControl will only open GCode files. Do you have an option to extract files from the downloaded .zip on your computer?

I do and I believe this is definitely part of my problem

Right click on the downloaded zip file and select extract all. It will create a folder with the files in it. I would suggest doing the f-bomb bottle opener since it doesn’t waste much material and has inside cuts, outside cuts, text and curves so you can dial in your machine.

1 Like

John,first welcome…east coaster ar’ya…good to see more canadians here…

you have been given a lot of information…so I will be glad to help out here…and if needed we can set up a call and walk you through some stuff…

so lets start at the beginning
what table do you have…OG or the Pro with torch height control?
what plasma cutter do you have?

as for saftware…FireControl only reads files that end in TAP…so once you download a file and extract it somewhere…you can use firecontrol to look for it…but if it does not have .tap it will not see it.
keep in mind that not all tap files are for each machine…