Help needed - cut quality (I'm a newb)

I received everything, built, setup, struggled, tested, read this forum, fought with random errors, replaced my control PC, THC voltages struggles… So YESTERDAY I am all done, it works, it doesn’t flake out, all the voltages look good — TIME TO CUT!

I’m using a Klutch I already had. It is set to 40 amps, air pressure is 75 psi (68 to 70 while cutting). Other than a quick test cut by hand with the torch, it went on with new consumables. I have cut shelf brackets and no surprise, I had to vary the cut speed. But even with it seemingly correct, I’m getting a lot of dross. So I made 7 test cuts pictured here. This is in cold rolled .122" material as measured on the edge.

Only feed speed was varied:
Top Line = 65 ipm
added 5 ipm each line going down
Line 7 = 95 ipm

From the front, looks like my choices are 65,70 and 75 ipm.
But on the back, none of them look like a good choice.

What am I missing?

UPDATE:
I may have answered some of my question myself, I ran it again from 30 ipm up to 60 ipm with the following results (below) I guess I just didn’t expect it to be so slow. Looks like 40 to 50 ipm is the sweet spot.

What are your pierce and cut heights set to?

See my update, between 40 to 50 looks the best, I just didn’t expect it to be so slow. Other than feed rate these are my settings in sheetcam (below) and my THC is at all defaults with a measured voltage of 139V when it tested.

That seems too slow for 1/8" material. There are a lot of variables involved depending on your cutter, torch and consumables. We all have to experiment to find the best settings. For my setup on 0.125" cold rolled: 43 Amps, 60 psi flow pressure, 75 IPM. Leaves virtually no dross with new consumables, but dross increases as consumables wear.

If I were you, I would do the same test increasing the amps by 5%. Then another with air pressure adjustments, and so on.

1 Like