Alternatives to Fusion 360?

Does anyone know if there are any alternatives to using Fusion 360 for making cam files for the Crossfire? I’m a bit of a newbie but it seem cumbersome and difficult to use. It is frustrating trying to get over the learning curve.

1 Like

Sheetcam works well, but its fairly expensive.

Fusion 360 is overwhelming at first but it’s worth learning. It’s an extremely powerful program.

1 Like

Agreed, I did a few small projects and caught on pretty well I think

I agree, once I got used to it, i actually prefer it over other programs. I was trying to use Adobe Illustrator and was having a harder time editing an SVG than I was when using Fusion. And, from a component design standpoint, it is much better. If you are designing signs, alot of people use corel or Adobe Illustrator and then export DXF files from that. If you want a free alternative, that I find is harder to learn, Inkscape can create dxf files and svg files also. You will still need to use fusion to create the G-code to cut on the crossfire, it is the only way to create the gcode outside of bying a program like sheetcam.

Fusion 360 has so many features, it seems at first like one can never learn it. But with time, practice , and patience, it is really a awesome program. the most frustrating is in the toolpathing part. but learning what it is having issues with makes it easier to understand.

2 Likes

Have any of you used Designspark Mechanical? It has an export to .dxf feature which I use it for drawing up parts to get cut by water jet. I then use DraftSight to double check the .dxf and make sure all lines and points are connected, or to remove any that are unnecessary.