Air Compressor Question

Hello, newbie here. I just bought a new CrossFire. I know I need a air compressor that is 6 CFM @ 75 P.S.I.
Can anyone tell me what they are using or bought, results, opinions, etc. I will be cutting 1/8" aluminum mainly. Thanks in advance.

I have a kobalt 60 gallon with 3.5 hp 240v 135 psi max system

2 Likes

I bought the same compressor!!!

I run a 29 gallon harbor freight compressor and use a hypertherm on my torch mate. The hypertherm uses more air than others and the compressor keeps up as long as I keep draining it

I would recommend getting a air compressor that is at least double the CFM that you actually need. My first compressor the specs made it look like it could keep up but for some reason my Hypertherm 45xp just had more of a air demand than it could deliver. Having to pause a program to let the compressor catch up was a pain and would not recommend it.

1 Like

I think hypertherm even recommends getting a compressor capable of providing 1.5 to 2x the air demands of the cutter

1 Like

I bought the CrossFire CNC Plasma Table Ă— 1
Core Components: CrossFire Personal CNC Plasma Table
Plasma Cutter: Razorweld Vipercut 30 (30A, 220V, ¼” cut capacity)
Water Table: Drop-In Water Table
Laptop Stand: None
Software: Mach3 Control Software – Full Version

I have been looking at these 2 air compressors locally:

https://www.homedepot.com/p/DEWALT-30-Gal-Portable-Electric-Air-Compressor-DXCMLA1983012/206796257?keyword=DXCMLA1983012&semanticToken=200300000+++>++++st%3A{dxcmla1983012}%3Ast++cnn%3A{0%3A0}+cnr%3A{8%3A1}+cnb%3A{9%3A1}++dxcmla1983012+{productkey}+qu%3A{dxcmla1983012}+oos%3A{0%3A1}

Anyone have this Crossfire setup? What compressor are you using?

Compressor? I had no idea I needed a compressor, where does it say u need one? Did I totally miss that part, a total newb here!